widowcentauri

Transcending Boundaries Conference — this weekend in Worcester, MA

In Adventure, American Dominatrix, BDSM, Comedy, culture, deviance, dominatrix, Education, FAQ, fetish, fun, gender, Gender bending, GLBT, GLBTQ, Golden Showers, kink, Lorelei Erisis, Massachusetts, performance, pissing, politics, Public, queer, sexual politics, sexuality, Trannies, Transsexual, traveling, whores, Widow Centauri, yoga on November 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm

I’m wicked excited to be a part of Transcending Boundaries.

I am heading to Worcester MA this weekend to present my research and perform a show on the same topic, Gender Variant Language! The show is Friday night and is boringly named “TBC Primer” for gawd only knows what reason. I guess the show is going to prime you for the conference, lube you up even. Additionally, this show is a monumental event: Lorelei Erisis and Widow Centauri will be on stage together for the first time ever!

I’m so excited I could pee on myself!

My presentation, Gender Variant Language, is Saturday at 4:00 PM.

Here is an abstract of the work:

There is little awareness in the mainstream regarding trans-issues. One of the major issues surrounding the lack of awareness is the issue of what to call transgender people. The problem is that the English language is lacking terminology to define and discuss gender variant folks in ways that are neither offensive nor awkward. Given the limitations of the binary-based vocabulary available to us in this culture it is important to assess the use of several gender-variant neologisms (GVN) that have begun to circulate in the transgender community, such as zhe, hir, grrrl, boi, and hiz. This presentation covers the issues surrounding the gender binary, in the structure of the English language, and the politics of identity that present themselves through this binary. My research questions focus specifically on the perception and performance of gender. I answer some preliminary questions about the potential for a gender-neutral pronoun to gain regular usage.

I hope you can come. It’s gonna be real swell.

www.transcendingboundaries.org for more info, and to register (if it’s not too late for olreg).

Say hello after I do my thing, or come by my table in the vendors area. I love to meet my readers.

  1. Wish I could be there. Good luck and have fun!

Leave a Reply

